Donate Today!   Join GSA      

Home | Contact GSA      

 
 
Mission
History of GSA
Nobel Winners
GSA Store
Bylaws
Board of Directors
Past Officers
Committees
Contact
Staff

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2017 GSA Board of Directors

Term Begins January 1, and ends December 31. (Date in parenthesis indicates year tenure on Board ends.)
Affiliation is for identification purposes only.

Officers

President
Lynn Cooley, PhD (2018)
Dean of the Graduate School of Arts and Sciences
C. N. H. Long Professor of Genetics
Professor of Cell Biology and of Molecular, Cellular, and Developmental Biology
Yale University
lynn.cooley@yale.edu
Vice-President
Jeannie T. Lee, MD/PhD (2019)
Investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute
Professor of Genetics and Pathology
Harvard Medical School
Molecular Biologist, Massachusetts General Hospital
Co-Director of the Harvard Epigenetics Initiative
lee@molbio.mgh.harvard.edu
Immediate Past President
Stanley Fields, PhD (2017)
Investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute
Professor of Genome Sciences and of Medicine
Adjunct Professor of Microbiology
University of Washington School of Medicine
fields@uw.edu
Secretary
David Greenstein, PhD (2018)
Professor of Genetics, Cell Biology, and Developmental Biology
University of Minnesota
green959@umn.edu
Treasurer
Piali Sengupta, PhD (2019)
Professor of Biology
Brandeis University
sengupta@brandeis.edu

Directors

Jef D. Boeke, PhD, SCD (2019)
Professor, Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Pharmacology
NYU Langone Medical Center (NYULMC)
Founding Director, Institute for Systems Genetics, NYULMC
Jef.Boeke@nyumc.org
JoAnne Engebrecht, PhD (2018)
Professor of Molecular and Cellular Biology
University of California, Davis
jengebrecht@ucdavis.edu
Mary Lou Guerinot, PhD (2019)
Ronald and Deborah Harris Professor
Department of Biological Sciences
Dartmouth College
guerinot@dartmouth.edu
Hopi Elisabeth Hoekstra, PhD (2019)
Investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute
Alexander Agassiz Professor, Department of Molecular and Cellular Biology, Department of Organismic and Evolutionary Biology
Harvard University
hoekstra@oeb.harvard.edu
Erika L. Matunis, PhD (2018)
Professor of Cell Biology
Johns Hopkins University
matunis@jhmi.edu
Fernando Pardo-Manuel de Villena, PhD (2017)
Oliver Smithies Investigator
Professor and Interim Chair
Department of Genetics
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
fernando@med.unc.edu
Craig S. Pikaard, PhD (2017)
Investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute - Gordon and Betty Moore Foundation
Carlos O. Miller Professor of Plant Growth and Development
Indiana University
cpikaard@indiana.edu
Eric U. Selker, PhD (2018)
Professor of Biology
Member, Institute of Molecular Biology
University of Oregon
selker@molbio.uoregon.edu
Huntington F. Willard, PhD (2018)
President and Director, Marine Biological Laboratory
Professor of Human Genetics, University of Chicago
hwillard@mbl.edu
Deborah Yelon, PhD (2017)
Herbert Stern Professor of Biological Sciences
Vice Chair, Section of Cell and Developmental Biology
Division of Biological Sciences
University of California, San Diego
dyelon@ucsd.edu

Journal Editors

Brenda J. Andrews, PhD (2020)
Editor-in-Chief, G3: Genes|Genomes|Genetics
Professor and Chair of the Banting & Best Department of Medical Research
Charles H. Best Chair in Medical Research
Director of the Terrence Donnelly Centre for Cellular and Biomolecular Research
University of Toronto
brenda.andrews@utoronto.ca
Mark Johnston, PhD (2018)
Editor-in-Chief, GENETICS
Professor and Chair of the Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Genetics
University of Colorado–Denver
Anschutz Medical Campus
mark.johnston@ucdenver.edu

Staff

Tracey DePellegrin Connelly
Executive Director
Genetics Society of America
9650 Rockville Pike
Bethesda, MD 20814-3998
T: 301-634-7300 F: 301-634-7079
tracey.depellegrin@thegsajournals.org

Trainee Advisory Representatives

Alessandro A. Bailetti, MS (2018)
Graduate Student
New York University School of Medicine
Alessandro.bailetti@nyumc.org
Heath Blackmon, PhD (2017)
Postdoctoral Researcher
University of Minnesota
coleoguy@gmail.com