Donate Today!   Join GSA      

Home | Contact GSA      

History of GSA
Nobel Winners
GSA Store
Board of Directors
Past Officers











2018 GSA Board of Directors

Term Begins January 1, and ends December 31. (Date in parenthesis indicates year tenure on Board ends.)
Affiliation is for identification purposes only.


Jeannie T. Lee, MD/PhD (2019)
Investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute
Professor of Genetics and Pathology
Harvard Medical School
Molecular Biologist, Massachusetts General Hospital
Co-Director of the Harvard Epigenetics Initiative
lee [at] molbio [dot] mgh [dot] harvard [dot] edu
Terry R. Magnuson, PhD (2020)
University of North Carolina
trm4 [at] med [dot] unc [dot] edu
Immediate Past President
Lynn Cooley, PhD (2018)
Dean of the Graduate School of Arts and Sciences
C. N. H. Long Professor of Genetics
Professor of Cell Biology and of Molecular, Cellular, and Developmental Biology
Yale University
lynn [dot] cooley [at] yale [dot] edu
David Greenstein, PhD (2018)
Professor of Genetics, Cell Biology, and Developmental Biology
University of Minnesota
green959 [at] umn [dot] edu
Piali Sengupta, PhD (2019)
Professor of Biology
Brandeis University
sengupta [at] brandeis [dot] edu


Jef D. Boeke, PhD, SCD (2019)
Professor, Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Pharmacology
NYU Langone Medical Center (NYULMC)
Founding Director, Institute for Systems Genetics, NYULMC
Jef [dot] Boeke [at] nyumc [dot] org
Kirsten Bomblies, PhD (2020)
John Innes Centre
kirsten [dot] bomblies [at] jic [dot] ac [dot] uk
JoAnne Engebrecht, PhD (2018)
Professor of Molecular and Cellular Biology
University of California, Davis
jengebrecht [at] ucdavis [dot] edu
Cassandra Extavour, PhD (2020)
Harvard University
extavour [at] oeb [dot] harvard [dot] edu
Mary Lou Guerinot, PhD (2019)
Ronald and Deborah Harris Professor
Department of Biological Sciences
Dartmouth College
guerinot [at] dartmouth [dot] edu
Matthew W. Hahn, PhD (2020)
Indiana Univ
mwh [at] indiana [dot] edu
Hopi Elisabeth Hoekstra, PhD (2019)
Investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute
Alexander Agassiz Professor, Department of Molecular and Cellular Biology, Department of Organismic and Evolutionary Biology
Harvard University
hoekstra [at] oeb [dot] harvard [dot] edu
Erika L. Matunis, PhD (2018)
Professor of Cell Biology
Johns Hopkins University
matunis [at] jhmi [dot] edu
Eric U. Selker, PhD (2018)
Professor of Biology
Member, Institute of Molecular Biology
University of Oregon
selker [at] uoregon [dot] edu
Huntington F. Willard, PhD (2018)
Professor of Human Genetics and Evolutionary Biology
University of Chicago
hfwillard [at] gmail [dot] com

Journal Editors

Brenda J. Andrews, PhD (2020)
Editor-in-Chief, G3: Genes|Genomes|Genetics
Professor and Chair of the Banting & Best Department of Medical Research
Charles H. Best Chair in Medical Research
Director of the Terrence Donnelly Centre for Cellular and Biomolecular Research
University of Toronto
brenda [dot] andrews [at] utoronto [dot] ca
Mark Johnston, PhD (2020)
Editor-in-Chief, GENETICS
Professor and Chair of the Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Genetics
University of Colorado–Denver
Anschutz Medical Campus
mark [dot] johnston [at] ucdenver [dot] edu


Tracey DePellegrin Connelly
Executive Director
Genetics Society of America
9650 Rockville Pike
Bethesda, MD 20814-3998
T: 301-634-7300 F: 301-634-7079
tracey [dot] depellegrin [at] thegsajournals [dot] org

Trainee Advisory Representatives

Alessandro A. Bailetti, MS (2018)
Graduate Student
New York University School of Medicine
Alessandro [dot] bailetti [at] nyumc [dot] org
Didem P. Sarikaya, PhD (2019)
UC Davis
dpsarikaya [at] ucdavis [dot] edu