





Contact: P. Edelman (301) 634-7302 pedelman@genetics-gsa.org

Molly Przeworski of the University of Chicago Receives 2007 Rosalind Franklin Young Investigator Award

Bethesda, MD -- The Genetics Society of America (GSA) and the American Society of Human Genetics (ASHG) in conjunction with the Peter and Patricia Gruber Foundation are pleased to announce that Molly F. Przeworski, PhD, assistant professor at the University of Chicago is the 2007 Rosalind Franklin Young Investigator Award recipient.

This career development research award of \$75,000, funded by the Peter and Patricia Gruber Foundation, is appropriated over three years and honors the groundbreaking contributions of Dr. Rosalind Franklin in the field of genetics. It is awarded to a young woman geneticist within her first one to three years of an independent faculty-level position in any area of genetics.

Dr. Przeworski, whose work is in population genetics, has made important empirical and theoretical contributions to our understanding of natural selection and its role in humans. Those familiar with Dr. Przeworski say she is able to take a complex biological problem, turn it into a manageable model and by using her exceptional quantitative skills, analyze the data and yield useful scientific results. Her current research interest seeks answers to questions regarding the genetic basis of recombination rate variation and its determinants in humans.

Choosing from among 142 applications, the selection committee included GSA and ASHG members. From GSA were: Amy E. Pasquinelli, PhD, University of California, San Diego; Marian Carlson, PhD, Columbia University, New York; Judith E. Kimble, PhD, University of Wisconsin, Madison. From ASHG were: Beverly S. Emanuel, PhD, Children's Hospital Philadelphia, Pennsylvania; Mary-Claire King, PhD, University of Washington, Seattle; Leena Peltonen-Palotie, MD, PhD, University of Helsinki and National Public Health Institute, Finland; and Janet D. Rowley, MD, PhD, University of Chicago, Illinois. The evaluation and selection processes were supported by the ASHG office staff.

Dr. Przeworski is only the second recipient of the Rosalind Franklin Young Investigator Award, which is selected every three years. It was first presented in 2004 to Amy Pasquinelli, assistant professor of biology at the University of California, San Diego. Dr. Przeworski will receive her award at the 57th Annual Meeting of the American Society of Human Genetics in San Diego, California on Wednesday, October 24, 2007.

#####