Invited Speakers and Session Chairs

Perkins/Metzenberg Lecture

Gillian TurgeonThe Perkins/Metzenberg Lecture is a thought-provoking perspective given by a leader in the field of fungal genetics that often includes an historical perspective, thoughts for the future, and some humor. We are pleased to announce the 2022 Perkins/Metzenberg Lecture will be given by Gillian Turgeon of Cornell University.

Gillian Turgeon is a Professor and Chair of the Section of Plant Pathology and Plant-Microbe Biology in the School of Integrative Plant Science at Cornell University. Her research concerns molecular mechanisms of fungal virulence to plant hosts (inter-organismal recognition) and filamentous ascomycete mating (intra-organismal recognition), both with a particular focus on secondary metabolite determinants.

Plenary Session Chairs and Speakers
Plenary Session 1 – Cell Biology and Morphology: Chairs, Louise Glass, University of Berkeley and Steve Harris, University of Manitoba
Norio Takeshita, University of Tsukuba, Japan
Irina Druzhinina, Nanjing University, China
Miguel Peñalva, Centro de Investigaciones Biológicas CSIC, Spain
Fulvia Verde, University of Miami, USA
Amy Gladfelter, University of North Carolina, USA

Plenary Session 2 – Cross Species Interaction: Chairs, Elaine Bignell, University of Exeter and Frances Trail, Michigan State University
Maria Harrison, Boyce Thompson/Cornell University, USA
Raymond St. Leger, University of Maryland, USA
Reinhard Fischer, Karlruhe Institute of Technology, Germany
Regine Kahmann, Max Plank Institute, Germany
Liz Ballou, University of Exeter, UK

Plenary Session 3 – Evolution and Development: Chairs, Joe Heitman, Duke University and Eva Stukenbrock, Kiel Evolution Center
Laszlo Nagy, BRC, Hungary
Hanna Johannesson, Uppsala University, Sweden
Nicolas Corradi, University of Ottawa, Canada
David Hibbett, Clark University, USA
Suzanne Noble, University of California, San Francisco, USA

Plenary Session 4 – Signaling and Metabolism: Chairs, Axel Brakhage, International Leibniz and Vera Meyer, Technical University of Berlin
Michelle O’Malley, University of California, Santa Barbara, USA
Phillip Benz, Technical University of Munich, Germany
Jim Kronstad, University of British Columbia, Canada
Han Wosten, University of Utrecht, Netherlands
Gustavo Goldman, University of Sao Paulo, Brazil

Previous Perkins/Metzenberg Lectures:

2019 – John Taylor, University of California, Berkeley

2017 – Jay Dunlap, Geisel School of Medicine, Dartmouth University

2015 – Michael J. Hynes, University of Melbourne

2013 – Regine Kahmann, Max Planck Institute for Terrestrial Microbiology

2011 – Salomon Barnicki-Garcia, Cicese

2009 – Claudio Scazzocchio, University of Paris

2007 – June Kwon Chung, National Institutes of Health

2005 – Joan Bennett, Tulane University

2003 – Han VanEtten, University of Arizona

2001 – Ronald Morris, Rutgers University

1999 – Rowland Davis, University of CA, Irvine

1997 – Lorna Casselton, University of Oxford

1995 – Robert Metzenberg, University of Wisconsin, Madison

1993 – Cardy Raper, University of Vermont

1991 – David Perkins, Stanford University

1989 – Charles Yanofsky, Stanford University