Community-Specific Awards

Community-Specific Awards

Drosophila Awards

Victoria Finnerty Undergraduate Travel Award
The Victoria Finnerty Undergraduate Travel Award supports travel costs for undergraduate GSA members who are engaged in research to attend the Annual Drosophila Research Conference. The award also includes presenting Drosophila research at TAGC 2020. The relevant application cycle for attendance at TAGC 2020 will open in Fall 2019. 

Larry Sandler Award
GSA presents the Larry Sandler Award to outstanding recent graduates who have completed a PhD in an area of Drosophila research. The award serves to honor Dr. Sandler for his many contributions to Drosophila genetics and his exceptional dedication to the training of Drosophila biologists.

Drosophila Image Award
The Drosophila Image Award was established in 2004 to recognize compelling images that communicate important findings in Drosophila research. Any image from a paper that has been accepted for publication in the calendar year preceding the Conference is eligible and can be submitted by the researcher who generated it. The Award is given to the most striking image and video that clearly convey an important biological result.

Details of the competition and Award Committee members can be found at

Learn more about Drosophila Awards at TAGC.

Population, Evolutionary, and Quantitative Genetics (PEQG) Awards

James F. Crow Early Career Researcher Award
GSA presents the James F. Crow Early Career Researcher Award to students and recent PhDs conducting PEQG research. Finalists for the Crow Award will present their research in a high-profile PEQG session. The overall winner will be selected by the conference keynote speakers.

Learn more about PEQG Awards at TAGC.

Yeast Awards

Ira Herskowitz Award 
GSA grants the Ira Herskowitz Award to recognize yeast geneticists who have made outstanding contributions to the field of yeast research in the last 20 years. This award is usually given to scientists under 50.

Learn more about Yeast Awards at TAGC.