Drosophila Community Information

Drosophila logo

Connect with the Drosophila research community at TAGC 2024! The meeting’s unique format offers multiple opportunities for you to share your work, learn about the latest research and tools, and build community. Hear the latest at the Drosophila Community Sessions and Poster Sessions.

Don’t miss the Annual Drosophila Research Conference!

Do you normally attend the Annual Drosophila Research Conference? TAGC incorporates this meeting for 2024, so you don’t want to miss out!

Connect With Us On Social Media

The conference hashtag is #TAGC24. Use the #Dros24 community-specific hashtag alongside #TAGC24 to allow everyone to follow along!

Stay tuned for more information about the Community Program Committee, Plenary Speakers, and Presentation Opportunities.

Community Program Committee

Chair, Melissa Harrison, University of Wisconsin School of Medicine and Public Health
Amanda Larracuente, University of Rochester
Dan McKay, UNC School of Medicine
Blake Riggs, San Francisco State University

Community Special Events and Awards

Larry Sandler Award

The Larry Sandler Memorial Lecture is presented by an outstanding recent PhD graduate on the opening night of the Conference. The award was established in 1988 by the colleagues, friends, and students of Dr. Larry Sandler after his untimely death in 1987. The award serves to honor Dr. Sandler for his many contributions to Drosophila genetics and his exceptional dedication to the training of Drosophila biologists.


Any student completing a PhD in an area of Drosophila research between July 2022 and December 2023 is eligible. Students may be nominated by their thesis advisor, department chair, or supervisory committee member.

Nomination deadline is November 1, 2023.

Nominate Here

Application materials and evaluation

1. Nomination letter

Applicants will be evaluated on nomination letter attributes including the applicant’s role in developing and testing hypotheses, the applicant’s role in doing or organizing the work, the applicant’s contribution to lab environment, and the applicant’s scientific growth.

2. Thesis abstract (1–2 pages; must omit journal names and institution names)

Applicants will be evaluated on abstract attributes including identifying an important scientific problem, the approach to tackling the scientific problem, and the anticipated impact to the community.

3. Nominee’s CV

Applicants will be evaluated on CV attributes including completed research works (e.g., research publications and preprints), other forms of scholarly contributions (e.g., editorials, commentary, reviews), and contributions to the scientific community and/or outreach activities.

Past recipients:

Bruce Edgar, 1988 Yu-Chiun Wang, 2007
Kate Harding, 1989 Adam A. L. Friedman, 2008
Michael Dickinson, 1990 Timothy T. Weil, 2009
Maurice Kernan, 1991 Leonardo Koerich, 2010
Doug Kellogg, 1992 Daniel Babcock, 2011
David Schneider, 1993 Stephanie Turner Chen, 2012
Kendal Broadie, 1994 Weizhe Hong, 2013
David Begun, 1995 Ruei-Jiun Hung, 2014
Chaoyong Ma, 1996 Zhao Zhang, 2015
Abby Dernburg, 1997 Alejandra Figueroa-Clarevega, 2016
Nir Hacohen, 1998 Danny E. Miller, 2017
Terence Murphy, 1999 Lucy Liu, 2018
Bin Chen, 2000 Balint Kacsoh, 2020
James Wilhelm, 2001 Ching-Ho Chang, 2021
Matthew C. Gibson, 2002 Lianna Wat, 2022
Sinisa Urban, 2003 James O’Connor, 2023
Sean McGuire, 2004
Elissa Hallem, 2005
Daniel Ortiz-Barrientos, 2006


Victoria Finnerty Undergraduate Travel Award

The Victoria Finnerty Undergraduate Travel Award supports travel costs for undergraduate GSA members who are engaged in research to attend the Annual Drosophila Research Conference. Application open and close dates will be announced soon.

Visit Finnerty Award Page »

Drosophila Image AwardThe Drosophila Image Award was established in 2004 to recognize compelling images that communicate important findings in Drosophila research. Any image from a paper that has been accepted for publication in the calendar year preceding the Conference is eligible and can be submitted by the researcher who generated it. The Award is given to the most striking image and video that clearly convey an important biological result.

Details of the competition and Award Committee members can be found at www.drosophila-images.org.

Conference History

2023: Chicago, IL and Online
2022: San Diego, CA and Online
2021: #Dros21 Online
2020: The Allied Genetics Conference (TAGC)
2019: Dallas, TX
2018: Philadelphia, PA
2017: San Diego, CA
2016: Orlando, FL
2015: Chicago, IL
2014: San Diego, CA
2013: Washington, DC
2012: Chicago, IL
2011: San Diego, CA
2010: Washington, DC
2009: Chicago, IL
2008: San Diego, CA
2007: Philadelphia, PA
2006: Houston, TX
2005: San Diego, CA
2004: Washington, DC
2003: Chicago, IL
2002: San Diego, CA
2001: Washington, DC
2000: Pittsburgh, PA