Close-up view of a wild-type Junonia coenia wing eyespot pattern. Zhang et al. used CRISPR mutagenesis to interfere with the genetic machinery necessary for making melanin pigments in the colored scales of the butterfly wing. See Zhang et al.

Our Board

The GSA Board of Directors understands the unique needs and challenges of scientists because they are scientists themselves. This group of dedicated volunteers works in tandem with Society staff and committee members to create GSA’s strategic plan and oversee GSA programs. The Board of Directors is elected by GSA members, and each member serves a three-year term.

E. Jane Hubbard

E. Jane Hubbard, PhD

2022 President (Board term 2021-2023)

NYU Grossman School of Medicine, Skirball Institute

Professor, Department of Cell Biology, Department of Pathology

Headshot of Tracy Johnson

Tracy Johnson

2022 Vice President (Board term 2022–2024)

University of California, Los Angeles

Cecilia and Keith Terasaki Presidential Endowed Chair

Professor, Molecular, Cell, and Developmental Biology

Dean of Life Sciences

Howard Hughes Medical Institute



Hugo Bellen, DVM, PhD

2022 Immediate Past President (Board term 2020-2022)

Baylor College of Medicine

Professor, Molecular and Human Genetics, Neuroscience, and Developmental Biology

Howard Hughes Medical Institute


Jan and Dan Duncan Neurological Research Institute 

Swathi Arur, PhD

Secretary (Board term 2022–2024)

The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center

Associate Professor, Department of Genetics

Mike Buszczak

Michael Buszczak, PhD

Treasurer (Board term 2020-2022)

The University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center

Professor, E. E. and Greer Garson Fogelson Scholar in Medical Research, Department of Molecular Biology, and Center for Regenerative Science and Medicine

Maitreya Dunham

Maitreya Dunham, PhD


University of Washington

Professor, Department of Genome Sciences

Oliver Hobert, PhD


Columbia University

Professor, Department of Biological Sciences

Howard Hughes Medical Institute


Folami Ideraabdullah

Folami Ideraabdullah, PhD


UNC School of Medicine

Associate Professor, Department of Genetics and Department of Nutrition

Headshot of Amanda Larracuente

Amanda Larracuente


University of Rochester

Associate Professor, Department of Biology

Irene Miguel-Aliaga, PhD


Imperial College London

Professor of Genetics and Physiology

MRC London Institute of Medical Sciences, United Kingdom

Genes and Metabolism Section Chair

Steven Munger, PhD


The Jackson Laboratory

Assistant Professor of Systems Genetics

Brandon Ogbunu

C. Brandon Ogbunu, PhD


Yale University

Assistant Professor of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology

Headshot of DJ Pan

Duojia (DJ) Pan


University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center

Bashour Distinguished Professor and Chairman, Department of Physiology

Howard Hughes Medical Institute



Headshot of Martha Soto

Martha Soto


Robert Wood Johnson Medical School, Rutgers

Noah Whiteman

Noah Whiteman, PhD


University of California, Berkeley

Associate Professor, Department of Integrative Biology

Headshot of Patricia J. Wittkopp

Patricia J. Wittkopp


University of Michigan

Chair, Department of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology

Professor, Department of Molecular, Cellular, and Developmental Biology

See past officers
Photo of Jacob Ortega

Jacob Ortega

Early Career Representative (2022-2023)

Baylor College of Medicine and MD Anderson Cancer Center

Graduate Student

Photo of Nicole Torosin

Nicole Torosin

Early Career Representative (2022-2023)

Rutgers University

Postdoctoral Researcher

Brenda J. Andrews, PhD

Editor in Chief, G3: Genes|Genomes|Genetics (2022)

University of Toronto

Professor and Chair of the Banting & Best Department of Medical Research; Charles H. Best Chair in Medical Research; Director of the Terrence Donnelly Centre for Cellular and Biomolecular Research


Howard Lipshitz

Howard Lipshitz, PhD

Editor in Chief, GENETICS (2025)

University of Toronto

Professor in the Department of Molecular Genetics

Tracey DePellegrin

Executive Director

Genetics Society of America

+1 240-880-2000